Fresno Child Support Lawyer
Laws Regarding Child Support in CA
Child support is the financial monthly payments paid by one parent to the other. It is typically the non-custodial parent who is required to pay child support and the custodial parent that receives the reward. It is to be used for the basic everyday needs of the child and can be used during and after a divorce is being established.
This is a serious obligation that must be handled by an attorney from my firm if any issues or disputes arise. At the Law Office of Zeppy Attashian, PC. , I focus on safeguarding the financial rights of my client, whether they are the paying or receiving party.
Child support is one of the most hotly contested issues of any divorce containing children because it consists of two matters assets are important to both individuals: children and money. It can be an emotionally trying situation that will undoubtedly bear substantial results in your future.
After a child support determination has been made by the court or mutually agreed upon by both parties, the paying party will have the obligation to provide monthly support to their ex-spouse for the care of their children. To ensure that your best interests are adequately protected, speak with a child support lawyer in Fresno today!
Have questions regarding child support in California? Contact our Fresno child support attorney from the Law Office of Zeppy Attashian, PC. today!
How Long Are You Required to Pay Fresno Child Support in CA?
State law requires the non-custodial parent to pay support until the child is 18 years old. There are some exceptions to this law, including:
If the child becomes legally emancipated. This means that the child became married, obtained a declaration of emancipation from the court, or entered the military.
If the child is still in high school, the duration of payments is extended until 19.
If both parents agree to extend the child support order. This must be approved by a judge within the county that the original support order was finalized.
How Is Child Support Determined in California?
In the state of California, the amount of child support is determined by taking into consideration how much time is spend with the child by both parents. The actual or imputed incomes of both parties must be declared A Fresno child support lawyer from my firm can work with you to ensure that your rights and those of your child are protected throughout the entire divorce process. If a modification is needed post-divorce, my firm can guide you through this process.
Can You Go to Jail for Back Child Support in California?
Yes, you can go to jail for back child support in California. In California, failing to pay child support willfully is a crime. The crime is a misdemeanor if unpaid child support is less than $2,500 and a felony if outstanding child support is more significant than $2,500.
If you are guilty of failing to pay child support, you could face a sentencing of up to one year in jail. You could also be ordered to pay a fine, restitution, or both.
In addition to criminal punishments, you could also face civil penalties for failing to pay child support. For example, the judge could garnish your wages, suspend your driver's license, or seize your property.
It is important to remember that failing to pay child support is serious. Contact our child support attorney to discuss your legal options as soon as possible.
Contact the Law Office of Zeppy Attashian, PC. as soon as possible to find out if our Fresno child support attorney can assist with your case today!